Digital Health ECR Sessions: Stories on Applying for Funding

Home/Uncategorized/Digital Health ECR Sessions: Stories on Applying for Funding

Digital Health ECR Sessions: Stories on Applying for Funding

Thursday 10th December, 2020 | 12.00pm-1.00pm
Panel members: Associate Professor Melissa Baysari, Professor Maree Teesson AC, Professor Leanne Togher, and Professor Jean Yang. 
Chair: Associate Professor Adam Dunn

We hope you can join us online for the first of the Digital Health ECR Sessions, which will be a panel discussion on grant applications, including: how to decide on, prepare for, and develop funding applications for fellowships, projects, and partnerships. There will also be an opportunity for Q&A with the panel.

The Digital Health Early Career Researchers Sessions are focused on biomedical informatics and digital health research but are open to anyone from the University of Sydney interested in developing skills and experience in multidisciplinary research.

**Please note: A link to the online session will be emailed separately to all attendees.


Panel member bios

Melissa BaysariAssociate Professor Melissa Baysari is a health services researcher highly experienced in the evaluation of health technology in practice. Her research comprises both quantitative and qualitative methodologies to understand how healthcare work is done, to determine the impact of technology on work processes and outcomes, and to identify areas where redesign of technology is necessary. Melissa has published widely (100+ outputs) in the areas of computerised decision support, electronic medication management and medication safety. Her research has had a significant impact on policy and practice, with a number of Australian hospitals using her research as they seek to design and assess their clinical decision support systems. Melissa has many ongoing collaborations with government, industry and health services, and she has been a Chief Investigator on 25 grants and consultancies (total >AUD$10 million), including six NHMRC Partnership grants.
Maree TeessonProfessor Maree Teesson AC is Director of the Matilda Centre, Director of the NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Prevention and Early Intervention in Mental Illness and Substance Use (PREMISE), and an NHMRC Principal Research Fellow at the University of Sydney. Maree is a National Mental Health Commissioner, an Australian Academy of Health and Medical Sciences Fellow, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Social Sciences and a member of the National Health and Medical Research Council. Maree was announced as a Companion of the Order of Australia in the Australia Day 2018 Honours List, awarded a Westpac/Australian Financial Review 100 Women of Influence (Innovation) in 2015, and awarded an Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers in 2014. Maree has made a major contribution to Australia’s health and medical research effort in the field of mental health and substance use. In particular, she is known nationally and internationally for her research on the comorbidity between mental health and substance use disorders.
Leanne TogherProfessor Leanne Togher is a full Professor at The University of Sydney, Australia, and Australian National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Senior Research Fellow. Professor Togher is internationally recognised with more than 120 papers, 4 books and over 20 book chapters and over AUD$20 million in external grant funding and was awarded the 2018 NHMRC Elizabeth Blackburn - Clinical Research Fellowship prize as the highest ranked female research fellow applicant in the field of Clinical Science and Medicine in the NHMRC Fellowships scheme. Togher’s work focuses on enabling access to healthcare for people with brain injury using digital health. Professor Togher is Honorary Professor at City University, London, UK, and Visiting Professor, Education University of Hong Kong, International Board Member for the Journals Board of ASHA (USA), member of the Board of Governors of the IBIA, and a Director on the Board of Brain Injury Australia.
Professor Jean Yang Professor Jean Yang is an applied statistician with expertise in statistical bioinformatics. She was awarded the 2015 Moran Medal in statistics from the Australian Academy of Science in recognition of her work on developing methods for molecular data arising in cutting edge biomedical research. Her research stands at the interface between medicine and methodology development and has centered on the development of methods and the application of statistics to problems in -omics and biomedical research. As a statistician who works in the bioinformatics area, she enjoys research in a collaborative environment, working closely with scientific investigators from diverse backgrounds.
Adam DunnPanel Chair
Associate Professor Adam Dunn is Head of Discipline and Associate Professor in the Discipline of Biomedical Informatics and Digital Health, School of Medical Sciences, Faculty of Medicine and Health, The University of Sydney. Besides supporting Discipline-related education, research, and translation goals across the Faculty, he leads research teams in clinical research informatics, aiming to improve the use of clinical trial evidence in systematic reviews and clinical practice; and in public health informatics, aiming to improve health behaviours by monitoring how evidence and misinformation are taken up by the public.

Brought to you by the Discipline of Biomedical Informatics and Digital Health

By | 2020-11-12T13:10:05+10:00 November 12th, 2020|Categories: Uncategorized|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment

Skip to toolbar